top of page

Very Simple Skin & Hair Care


You know me. Always looking for the most simple ways to do things -including skin care. So after searching far and wide this is the very simple skin care routine I use.

Cleansing

To cleanse my face I use just hot water and a flannel.

To cleanse my body I use nice natural soap in the shower or bath.

Moisturizing

And I moisturize with extra virgin coconut oil. If you accidentally apply too much and your skin looks greasy, simply gently wipe off the excess with a towel.

I adapt my coconut oil a little in winter. I soften it up (either by sitting the jar in some hot water or by using the microwave), and then I add a little extra virgin olive oil. The ratio would be 1:3. About a 1/4 olive oil. This makes it easier to use in winter as here in New Zealand coconut oil will go rock hard in winter!

Deodorant

I make a homemade deodorant out of extra virgin coconut oil, baking soda & arrowroot powder (or maize cornflour). I use 1:1 ratio with baking soda and arrowroot powder, and then add enough coconut oil to make a paste and keep this in a small container. Once again, in winter I use a little less coconut oil and replace that with the olive oil. Very easy to use, just scrap a some onto your thumb nail, and apply under your arm. I find I have no body odor when I use this very simple and economical deodorant! No smelly under arms and no smelly clothes. Wonderful! (Plus you have no chemicals of any kind on your skin. Ditto with the coconut oil as moisturizer!)

"Shampoo"

I don't actually use shampoo or conditioner. I generally use soap to wash my hair, working up a nice lather, rinse, and follow with a rinse made of 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar in a mug of water. Generally I wash my hair in the shower and leave the rinse in while I shower. After that I rinse out the apple cider rinse, following that with as cold as I can stand water rinse at the end (to increase hair shine!).

Occasionally I use baking soda to wash my hair, following with the apple cider rinse. To wash your hair with baking soda you simply place a tablespoon of baking soda in a mug of water and stir well. Wet your hair as normal and wring it out, and start to tip the baking soda mixture all over your hair. Massage it into your scalp well. Rinse. And then follow with the apple cider vinegar rinse in the same way as above.

My hair is soft and shiny after using either of these methods!

(P.S. If my hair was too dry at any time I would simply rub a teaspoon of extra virgin coconut or olive oil into my hands, rub together and apply gently to hair ends. Brush well after! Another option is to do this before you wash your hair and leave on for about 15 minutes before washing with hot water and soap.)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page